Forgot to mention one thing…I finally got a boat!!!!

“The two best days of your life are the day you buy your boat and the day you sell your boat”.  I don’t know who really said that first, but I’ve heard it about 20 times over the past couple of weeks. I’ve got one of those days checked off.

I got my boat…finally!!!

She is a 1999 Bayliner Ciera Sunbridge, and express cruiser.  Not exactly the boat I pictured myself buying…but I have to say, this is a great boat!  She has a great bimini top with canvas to the aft and really nice eisenglass up front.  (Clearly I can’t spell that word yet.)  Plenty of room for storage, touchscreen radar, very nice auto pilot, overall in pretty darn good condition.  She’s got 2 Mercruiser engines, which as my survey mechanic Alfredo said “you can find these in a Camaaarroo”.  It sounds like a couple of sports cars are trying to escape the boat when you start her up…pretty cool!

I’m still getting everything on board, and I can’t technically take her out on my own until I have a few more hours of instruction under a captain…but I have a boat!!  For some reason I have very few photos of her.  Here are a couple, please, take a gander:

One of the features I really like is how you can walk out onto the bow from the cockpit via the opening window.  Saves you from the dangling around route.

Right now as the rest of the world is counting down to midnight, I’m sitting on my boat with tissues everywhere as I have some relentless sinus infection/massive allergy attack/cold/what the hell is going on I eat healthy for crying out loud.  The water is tossing us around a bit due to it actually raining in San Diego…yes, it does happen.  The weather has pretty much been solid rain since I got her to her slip on Dec 20th.

The fix it list had officially begun before I was even the owner.  New valve, freezer door needs to be replaced, some engine things need to be cleaned, new props…but other than that…

And to think, I pictured myself just gracefully loading all of my crochet stuff on board with my laptop and a bikini…popping open a beer and watching locked up abroad while crocheting in the sun.  Yeah, I’m silly.

I hope to have a number of boating adventures in 2017.  Catalina, Mexico, the big bay…fishing, diving.  Can not wait!!

Oh, and all of the money I saved on gas by buying a scooter instead of a car was quickly evened out when I filled the tank to get her down to San Diego from Dana Point.  Yikes!

I also hope to be more diligent with sharing my stories on this blog.  With all of the craziness involved with buying a boat coupled with a new job, and five other things I’m sure, I’ve not kept up with sharing everything I’ve gone through.

Happy new year to everyone out there on land and sea…stay safe, stay happy and spend time with all of your friends.

See you at sea!

-Eileen

PS:  Yes I’m changing the name.  Yes I know it can be bad luck, but I’m going to do it the right way and have a little champagne on her maiden voyage over 3 miles out.

3 thoughts on “Forgot to mention one thing…I finally got a boat!!!!

Leave a Reply

