I’m afraid of my boat….

Not exactly afraid “of” the boat.  I’m more terrified by the fact that I have no idea of how boats work.  I’m fairly certain that every noise is a direct result of my nautical ignorance which will immediately result in the boat meeting her demise.  As I settle into bed I hear something kick on.  Do I look?  What exactly am I looking for?  And what on earth do I do if it looks “wrong”??  Who do I call?  (Ghostbusters, clearly)

I think I’ve identified one noise as the fridge just kicking on to cool itself.  Is it kicking on too often?  Do I have it set right?  Am I using too much power?  How much power is too much?  And why is that light on that box over there red?

I know it’s hard to believe, but on land I’m actually a fully functional adult.  Seriously!  I can dress myself, turn lights on and off, make and eat a sandwich, open and close an umbrella…I can even hold down a job!  Yay me!  I have an obscene amount of things to learn about the boat.  With every sound I hear as I try to fall asleep I can’t help but have the feeling that I may wake up a few feet lower in the bay.  Just keep floating!

The toilet flushing is one of the most unsettling sounds I’ve heard.  It’s like a chainsaw got stuck in some huge tree and is trying to break free.  Then the water pump…or at least what I think is the water pump.  I’m crippled with the fear that I’m doing everything wrong and slowly destroying the boat.

One day at a time…keep on floating…

See you at sea…I hope…

-Eileen

2 thoughts on “I’m afraid of my boat….

Leave a Reply

